Kevin Durant – 2012 Scoring Champion

Oklahoma City’s own Durant clinched his third consecutive scoring title earlier this afternoon when Yahoo’s Sam Amick reported that Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers is going to sit out the final game. Sitting out is allowing Bryant to rest up for the playoffs. In doing so, Durant clinched his third straight scoring title.

Kobe Bryant led the scoring race, all the way up until the final week, when Durant was able to over come Bryant on Sunday in Los Angeles in a head-to-head battle. Durant may have taken back the scoring lead, but Bryant won the game. Which, that is the more important factor.

Durant joins an elite class of NBA players. Specifically, he joins an elite class of NBA Hall-of-Famers. All seven of the players who have won three or more consecutive scoring titles, all are Hall-of-Famers. Michael Jordan, Bob Macadoo, George, the Iceman, Gervin, and Wilt Chamberlain, George Mikan and Neil Johnston.

At age 23, Durant is the youngest to accomplish that feat.

“I always told myself that once I’m done playing, that’s when I’ll reflect on what I’ve done individually,” Durant said.

History does not bode well for the scoring champion. Out of the 64 all-time scoring champions, only 11 times has the scoring champion went on to went the NBA Championship. Six of those were by Jordan. Hasn’t happened since 1999-2000 when Shaquille O’Neal won it as the Los Angeles Lakers went on to win the NBA title that year. Their first of three in a row.


We invite you to follow Thunder Digest on Twitter and like Thunder Digest on Facebook. Don't forget to subsribe on Youtube! Our Podcast is on iTunes and on Stitcher. We also have a Thunder Digest Instagram account if you love fun Thunder photography!
Previous Post

Thunder Lose Finale 106-101 to the Nuggets

Next Post

Thunder-Mavericks First Round Schedule

Related Posts